Grocery store shelves are stocked with "ancient grains." Eating an ingredient that has remained unchanged for millennia seems cool.
Amaranth is a pseudocereal, not a grain. Since it's not related to wheat, it doesn't contain gluten. It's related to quinoa with a grassier flavour.
Buckwheat is not a wheat variety despite its name. "Ancient grain" is a misnomer because it's a pseudocereal like amaranth. The plant is related to sorrel and rhubarb, not grass or cereal.
Bulgur is parboiled, dried cracked wheat. Because the grains are already cooked, you can cook bulgur in 10 minutes.
Chia seeds can absorb up to 12 times their weight in water. When added to liquid, they turn it into a jelly or pudding.
Einkorn is the oldest cultivated grain in recorded history. Cracked and parboiled gluten-containing wheat creates bulgur.
Farro includes einkorn, emmer, and spelt. Italians call them small, medium, and large farro. Emmer is the most popular variety in the U.S.
Dried freekeh grains are greenish-golden. These gluten-containing durum wheat grains are harvested green and toasted over live fire.